The D. Curtis Mumford Faculty Service Award was created by the Faculty Senate in June 1983 and first presented to the man for whom it was named in September 1983 at Faculty Day ceremonies. The award was conceived by a group of faculty who wished to find a means of recognizing exceptional, ongoing, and dedicated interdepartmental, interdisciplinary and interinstitutional service to the faculty and to OSU. A cash award and plaque is customarily provided.

List of Previous Recipients

Award Criteria

  • exceptional, ongoing, and dedicated interdepartmental, interdisciplinary and interinstitutional service to the Faculty and to OSU

Nomination Process

Nominations shall include: (1) the completed nomination form; (2) the nominee's vita; (3) position description indicating breakdown of FTE allocation; and (4) three letters of support: one shall be from a current or former student, one shall be from a current or emeritus faculty member, and the third may be from a faculty member, current or former students, and/or others who can comment on the nominee's qualifications. Because the nominator completes the nomination form, the nominator is not eligible to submit a letter of support. The letters of support each shall not exceed three single-sided pages using at least 12 font and 1" margins. Please be certain that the nomination materials, particularly the three letters, address the criteria. Signatures on the letters and supporting documents must be included.

The original copy of the nomination form must be submitted to the Faculty Senate Office upon submission of the electronic copy; paper clip the original only – do not staple nor place it in a folder or binder. The nomination packet for the successful recipient becomes the property of University Archives and will not be returned to the nominator.

Selection Process

Nominations will be reviewed and selected by the Faculty Recognition & Awards Committee. Committee recommendations will be made on the basis of the information submitted; the committee does not solicit additional information. If the Committee wishes to recommend presentation of an award, the name of at least one recipient from among the nominees, with supporting documentation, will be forwarded to the Executive Committee and the Faculty Senate. If no award is recommended, the Faculty Recognition & Awards Committee shall state its reasons for this decision, but the nominees need not be reviewed in the process. Nominations not resulting in an award shall automatically be reviewed for two years beyond the year in which the nomination is submitted. Nominators shall have the opportunity to update the materials prior to reconsideration. The Executive Committee shall make the final decision whether to forward a recommendation to the Faculty Senate. If the Faculty Senate approves presentation of the award, the Executive Committee will be responsible for preparing a plaque for presentation to the recipient at the following University Day program.

To assist nominators in preparing nomination materials, a sample nomination form may be viewed. This version is for viewing only; information may be entered only via the below nomination form.

Do not begin entering information on this electronic form unless you are ready to submit the nomination - the form CANNOT be saved and finished at a later time. Please send a hard copy of the original nomination materials to the Faculty Senate Office (instructions below) when the nomination is submitted electronically. Nominations will not be considered unless both the electronic version and hard copy original have been received by the Faculty Senate Office.

Additional information submitted with the nomination will not be considered; please include only requested information and refer to the guidelines when organizing nomination packets.

The requested electronic information on the linked nomination form and one original of each nomination for the D. Curtis Mumford Faculty Service Award must be received by March 17, 2018. It is necessary to follow the instructions completely or the nomination will not be considered. Send the original nomination to: Faculty Recognition and Awards Committee, c/o Faculty Senate Office, 107 Gilkey Hall.