A PDF of the minutes is available here.

Note: Complete proceedings of the meeting were recorded and are available at https://senate.oregonstate.edu/february-8-2018. This recap contains agenda attachments, votes associated with action items, Information Items and the Roll Call.

Thursday, February 8, 2018


Provost Ed Feser


Roger Nielsen, Senior OSU IFS Senator, recapped the January IFS meeting hosted by the University of Oregon.


  1. Coalition of Graduate Employees Reopener Update

Sherm Bloomer, Jennifer Brown and Viki Dimick Jackson briefly explained the Coalition of Graduate Employees bargaining process, share an analysis of student costs compared to PAC-12 peers and presented a synopsis of the listening sessions conducted in November.

  1. Collegiate Recovery Community

John Ruyak, Student Health Services, described the purpose and goals of the Collegiate Recovery Community.


  1. Faculty Small Group Sessions with President Ray

In an ongoing effort to improve communication lines between the faculty and administration, the Faculty Senate Executive Committee is sponsoring two Winter term small group conversations with President Ray and faculty (academic, research and professional). These conversations will be facilitated by a Faculty Senate Executive Committee member and will consist of up to 12 faculty. This is an opportunity for the President to hear what faculty are thinking and experiencing; faculty are encouraged to speak freely. If you’d like an issue clarified, or wish to confirm a rumor, this is the place to do it!

The sessions are February 20 from 9:30-11:00 and March 5 from 1:00-2:30. If you wish to attend, please register online at https://oregonstate.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_8HpE7tKA7LEftSR.

  1. Remote Participation in Faculty Senate Meetings

To participate in Faculty Senate meetings via WebEx, log in to https://oregonstate.webex.com beginning at 2:50 PM on the day of the Senate meeting, and then login with your ONID credentials to the Faculty Senate Chat Room. Senators and proxies must log in with their real names so that attendance can be accurately reflected; if you are a proxy, please indicate the Senator you are representing. If you are asked for a meeting number, insert 921 759 624. If you experience problems logging in during the meeting, please contact Vickie Nunnemaker at [email protected].

  1. Faculty Awards Solicitation

The Faculty Recognition and Awards Committee is now accepting nominations for the awards listed below. Criteria and nomination forms regarding these awards are online at http://senate.oregonstate.edu/individual-awards; nominations will be accepted through March 17, 2018. Guidelines to assist those preparing nomination packets are available online at http://senate.oregonstate.edu/sites/senate.oregonstate.edu/files/guidelinesfacultysenateawardnominationpackets.pdf. For further information, contact Vickie Nunnemaker at [email protected].

  • Richard M. Bressler Senior Faculty Teaching Award
  • Faculty Innovator Award
  • Industry Partnering Award
  • International Service Award
  • D. Curtis Mumford Faculty Service Award
  • OSU Academic Advising Award
  • OSU Alumni Association Distinguished Professor Award
  • OSU Faculty Teaching Excellence Award
  • OSU Impact Award for Outstanding Scholarship
  • OSU Outreach and Engagement Award
  • OSU Professional Faculty Excellence Award
  • Outstanding Faculty Research Assistant Award
  • Promising Scholar Award
  • Dar Reese Excellence in Advising Award
  • Elizabeth P. Ritchie Distinguished Professor Award
  • Student Learning and Success Teamwork Award
  1. 2018 Faculty Senate Meetings

Please reserve the following dates for Faculty Senate meetings for the remainder of the academic year; check the monthly agenda to determine the location. All meetings are scheduled to begin at 3:00 PM: February 8, March 8, April 12, May 10 and June 7.

As a reminder, Senators are responsible for finding a proxy to represent them when unable to attend. Additionally, Senators and proxies may participate remotely by following the instructions at .

  1. Vacancies

Please notify the Faculty Senate Office if a sabbatical, leave, or retirement will prevent completion of your term as either a Senator or Faculty Senate committee/council member. If you are away more than one term, exclusive of summer term, a replacement is required. This information will assist us in identifying a replacement. Senators and committee/council members immediately continuing on a 1039-hour appointment may retain their position as long as the temporary appointment continues or until the end of their appointed/elected term, whichever comes first.


Jon Dorbolo



Recap prepared by Vickie Nunnemaker, Faculty Senate staff

Roll Call

Members Present:
Agricultural Sciences: Alix-Garcia, Diebel, Epps, Robin Frozen (v. Goddik), Hayes, Selina Heppell, Moyer, Murthy, Noller, Sanchez, Simonich (remote), Sterns, Waite-Cusic
Associated Faculty: Birky, Breen, Bromagem, Calvery (remote), Fleming, Hayes (remote), McKnight, Milic, Claire McMorris (v. Mills), Pappas, Riggs, Riney, Signs (remote), Silbernagel, Vignos (remote), Waite, Yee (remote)
Business: Akroyd (remote), Bourne (remote), Cluver (remote), LeMay, Murnieks (remote)
Cascades: Hagen (remote), Witzke (remote)
Earth, Oceanic & Atmospheric Sciences: Andrew Thurber (v. Colwell), Dever, Meigs, Shiel, Watkins-Brandt
Education: Aaron (remote), Bachman (remote)
Engineering: Johnston, Kelly (remote), Mayaram (remote), Scott
Extension: Arispe (remote), Claire (v. Kaiser) (remote), Wells
Forestry: Cushing (remote), Hatten (remote), Schimleck, Shaw (remote)
Hatfield Marine Science Center: Henkel
Liberal Arts: Barnd (remote), Below (remote), Boovy (remote), Duncan (remote), Hammer, Inderbitzin (remote), Maldonado (remote), Orosco, Osei-Kofi (remote), Plaza, Shirazi (remote)
Library: Van Tuyl
Pharmacy: Linares (remote)
Public Health & Human Sciences: Bethel (remote), Hannigan-Downs (remote), Krahn, MacTavish (remote), Yun
Science: Beisiegel (remote), Bogley, Bokil, Cozzi, Faridani, Gitelman, McIntyre, Remcho (remote), Swisher (remote), Tate (remote)
Student Affairs: Atebe, Le, Smith
Veterinary Medicine: Gordon, Pastey

Members Absent:
Agricultural Sciences: Bohnert, Bolte, Chang, Field, Gaebel, Scott Heppell, Mata-Gonzalez, Mundt, Sterns
Associated Faculty: Bradoch, Bruce, Hansen, Mathern, Sagmiller
Business: Gerasymenko
Cascades: Dahl, Wolsko
Earth, Oceanic & Atmospheric Sciences: Ozkan-Haller
Education: Aaron (remote), Bachman (remote)
Engineering: Albertani, Bay, Gambatese, Lee, Paasch, Porter, Squires, Wildenschild, Yeh
Extension: Hein
Forestry: Knowles
Hatfield Marine Science Center: Miller
Liberal Arts: Chappell, Lauer, Roper
Pharmacy: Sikora
Public Health & Human Sciences: Khanna, Luck
Science: Ossiander, Riverstone
Student Affairs: Jenkins, Kenney, Nakic, Wright
Veterinary Medicine: Milovancev

Guests Present:
Sherm Bloomer, Mark Dinsmore (remote), Jenny Haubenreiser, Viki Dimick Jackson, Kim LeMay (remote), Sastry Pantula (remote), Robyn Pease, Lissa Perrone (remote), Corina Rampola (remote), John Ruyak, Linda Sather (remote), Robbin Sim (remote), Jay VanDenBogaard, Kevin Weitemeier (remote)