A PDF of the minutes can be found here.

Note: Complete proceedings of the meeting were recorded and are available at https://senate.oregonstate.edu/march-8-2018. This recap contains agenda attachments, votes associated with action items, Information Items and the Roll Call.

Thursday, March 8, 2018


Student Evaluation of Teaching Forms

Devon Quick, Advancement of Teaching Committee Chair, provided a status update related to OSU’s Student Evaluation of Teaching and the current work being done by the Committee around eSETS. The attached contains an update related to eSET.


  1. Strategic Plan 4.0 

Provost Ed Feser and Senior Vice Provost Susan Capalbo provided brief comments regarding the engagement process for the development of SP4.0. Steve Shields, a consultant with Constructive Endeavors, then lead a dialogue with Senators and guests regarding the University’s strategic direction and goals. Participants were encouraged to think expansively about the University’s mission, areas of distinction, and strategic imperatives and current initiatives.

  1. OSU Accreditation 

JoAnne Bunnage, Director of University Accreditation, and Susan Capalbo, Senior Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs and Accreditation Liaison Officer, provided information related to the upcoming OSU Accreditation effort. Information related to University Accreditation may be accessed online by cutting and pasting the following URL into a web browser: https://leadership.oregonstate.edu/provost/university-accreditation.

  1. Ten-Year Business Forecast  

Sherm Bloomer, Director of Budget and Fiscal Planning, presented information related to OSU’s Ten-Year Business Forecast.


  1. Remote Participation in Faculty Senate Meetings

To participate in Faculty Senate meetings via WebEx, log in to https://oregonstate.webex.com beginning at 2:50 PM on the day of the Senate meeting, and then login with your ONID credentials to the Faculty Senate Chat Room. Senators and proxies must log in with their real names so that attendance can be accurately reflected; if you are a proxy, please indicate the Senator you are representing. If you are asked for a meeting number, insert 921 759 624. If you experience problems logging in during the meeting, please contact Vickie Nunnemaker at [email protected].

  1. Faculty Awards Solicitation

The Faculty Recognition and Awards Committee is now accepting nominations for the awards listed below. Criteria and nomination forms regarding these awards are online at http://senate.oregonstate.edu/individual-awards; nominations will be accepted through March 17, 2018. Guidelines to assist those preparing nomination packets are available online at . For further information, contact Vickie Nunnemaker at [email protected].

  • Richard M. Bressler Senior Faculty Teaching Award
  • Faculty Innovator Award
  • Industry Partnering Award
  • International Service Award
  • D. Curtis Mumford Faculty Service Award
  • OSU Academic Advising Award
  • OSU Alumni Association Distinguished Professor Award
  • OSU Faculty Teaching Excellence Award
  • OSU Impact Award for Outstanding Scholarship
  • OSU Outreach and Engagement Award
  • OSU Professional Faculty Excellence Award
  • Outstanding Faculty Research Assistant Award
  • Promising Scholar Award
  • Dar Reese Excellence in Advising Award
  • Elizabeth P. Ritchie Distinguished Professor Award
  • Student Learning and Success Teamwork Award
  1. Faculty Small Group Sessions with President Ray

In an ongoing effort to improve communication lines between the faculty and administration, the Faculty Senate Executive Committee is sponsoring two Winter term small group conversations with President Ray and faculty (academic, research and professional). These conversations will be facilitated by a Faculty Senate Executive Committee member and will consist of up to 12 faculty. This is an opportunity for the President to hear what faculty are thinking and experiencing; faculty are encouraged to speak freely. If you’d like an issue clarified, or wish to confirm a rumor, this is the place to do it!

The sessions are April 23 from 10:00-11:30 and May 22 from 1:00-2:30. If you wish to attend, please register online at http://oregonstate.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_d0au4xElmbzvJgV.

  1. 2018 Faculty Senate Meetings

Please reserve the following dates for Faculty Senate meetings for the remainder of the academic year; check the monthly agenda to determine the location. All meetings are scheduled to begin at 3:00 PM: April 12, May 10 and June 7.

As a reminder, Senators are responsible for finding a proxy to represent them when unable to attend. Additionally, Senators and proxies may participate remotely by following the instructions at .

  1. Vacancies

Please notify the Faculty Senate Office if a sabbatical, leave or retirement will prevent completion of your term as either a Senator or Faculty Senate committee/council member. If you are away more than one term, exclusive of summer term, a replacement is required. This information will assist us in identifying a replacement.


Jon Dorbolo




Meeting adjourned at 4:52 PM.

Recap prepared by Vickie Nunnemaker, Faculty Senate staff


Roll Call

Members Present:
Agricultural Sciences: Alix-Garcia, Jeff Reimer (v. Diebel), Epps, Robert McGorrin (v. Goddik), Hayes, Scott Heppell, Selina Heppell (remote), Moyer, Murthy (remote), Noller (remote), Sanchez, Waite-Cusic
Associated Faculty: Birky, Bradoch, Breen, Bromagem, Bruce, Fleming (remote), Hayes (remote), Mathern, McKnight, Milic (remote), Mills, Riggs (remote), Riney (remote), Sagmiller, Signs (remote), Silbernagel, Waite (remote), Yee (remote)
Business: Akroyd (remote), Bourne (remote), Cluver (remote), LeMay (remote), Murnieks (remote)
Cascades: Dahl (remote), Hagen (remote), Witzke (remote)
Earth, Oceanic & Atmospheric Sciences: Colwell, Dever, Meigs (remote), Ozkan-Haller, Shiel, Watkins-Brandt (remote)
Engineering: Johnston (remote), Kelly (remote), Mayaram (remote), Paasch, Scott, Wildenschild (remote)
Extension: Hein (remote), Wells (remote)
Forestry: Cushing (remote), Shaw
Hatfield Marine Science Center: Henkel
Liberal Arts: Below (remote), Chappell, Duncan (remote), Hammer, Inderbitzin (remote), Tekla Bude (v. Lauer), Osei-Kofi (remote), Plaza, Roper (remote), Shirazi (remote), Trujillo
Library: Van Tuyl
Pharmacy: Linares (remote)
Public Health & Human Sciences: Bethel (remote), Hannigan-Downs, Krahn, MacTavish (remote), Yun (remote)
Science: Beisiegel (remote), Bogley, Bokil, Cozzi (remote), Giovannoni, Gitelman, McIntyre, Remcho, Swisher (remote), Tate
Student Affairs: Le, Nakic (remote), Smith
Veterinary Medicine: Pastey

Members Absent:
Agricultural Sciences: Bohnert, Bolte, Chang, Field, Gaebel, Mata-Gonzalez, Mundt, Simonich, Sterns
Associated Faculty: Calvery, Hansen, Pappas, Vignos
Business: Gerasymenko
Cascades: Wolsko
Education: Aaron, Bachman
Engineering: Albertani, Bay, Gambatese, Lee, Porter, Squires, Yeh
Extension: Arispe, Hein
Forestry: Hatten, Knowles, Schimleck
Hatfield Marine Science Center: Miller
Liberal Arts: Barnd, Boovy, Maldonado, Orosco
Pharmacy: Sikora
Public Health & Human Sciences: Khanna, Luck
Science: Faridani, Ossiander, Riverstone
Student Affairs: Atebe, Jenkins, Kenney, Wright
Veterinary Medicine: Gordon, Milovancev

Guests Present:
Sherm Bloomer, Susan Capalbo (remote), Sara Daly (remote), Janet Ekholm (remote), Tom Fenske (remote), Rosemary Garagnani (remote), Lynn Gonzalez (remote), Kerri Goergen-Doll (remote), Lynn Greenough, Julie Greenwood (remote), Ren Guo (remote), Mark Johnson (remote), Cub Kahn (remote), Kate Ma (remote), Meg Mobley (remote), Kerri Nawrocki (remote), Sastry Pantula (remote), Robynn Pease, Lissa Perrone (remote), Amy Riley (remote), Noni Scherer (remote), Steve Shields (remote), Robbin Sim (remote), Brian Stroup (remote), Lucas Turpin (remote), Brett Tyler