# **OSU Faculty Senate News**

March 12, 2019

The OSU Faculty Senate represents academic and research faculty (tenure, tenure-track and fixed-term), as well as professional faculty. There is no minimum FTE for Faculty Senate inclusion. The defined faculty ranks appear in Article III of the Bylaws at <a href="https://senate.oregonstate.edu/bylaws">https://senate.oregonstate.edu/bylaws</a>.

The purpose of the newsletter is to update faculty on upcoming opportunities and events, as well as information items related to the Faculty Senate.

## **Communicating with the Faculty Senate President**

To ensure that messages related to Faculty Senate issues are routed directly to the Faculty Senate President, a new email address has been created specifically to communicate with the President. Please address your messages to <a href="mailto:FS.President@oregonstate.edu">FS.President@oregonstate.edu</a>.

### **Faculty Senate Meetings**

The Faculty Senate meets the second Thursday of the month from October through June from 3:00-5:00 and, typically, meets in the LaSells Stewart Center Construction and Engineering Hall. Faculty Senate meetings are open to the public.

The March 14 Faculty Senate agenda may be viewed online at <a href="https://senate.oregonstate.edu/march-14-2019-faculty-senate-agenda">https://senate.oregonstate.edu/march-14-2019-faculty-senate-agenda</a>.

This month the following curricular proposals will be considered:

- Business Analytics #106038 New Degree Program Proposal
- Communication MA, MS #99706 New Degree Program Proposal
- Environmental Sciences #99417 OSU-Cascades Campus New Degree Program
- Undergraduate Certificate in CyberSecurity #105390 New Certificate Program Proposal
- Russian Studies Undergraduate Certificate #100119 Termination of an Academic Program Proposal

Additionally, there will be an NWCCU Accreditation Report – Updates and Site Visit Preparation and an Interinstitutional Faculty Senate Meeting Recap.

### **Faculty Awards Solicitation**

The Faculty Recognition and Awards Committee is now accepting nominations for the awards listed below. Criteria and nomination forms regarding these awards are online at <a href="http://senate.oregonstate.edu/individual-awards">http://senate.oregonstate.edu/individual-awards</a>; online nominations for awards selected by the Faculty Recognition and Awards Committee will be accepted through March 18, 2019 – hard copies may be delivered to the Faculty Senate Office, 107 Gilkey Hall, by March 20. Guidelines to assist those preparing nomination packets are available online at

http://senate.oregonstate.edu/sites/senate.oregonstate.edu/files/guidelinesfacultysenateawardnominationpackets.pdf.

For further information, contact Vickie Nunnemaker at <u>vickie.nunnemaker@oregonstate.edu</u>.

- Richard M. Bressler Senior Faculty Teaching Award
- Faculty Innovator Award
- Industry Partnering Award
- International Service Award

- D. Curtis Mumford Faculty Service Award
- OSU Academic Advising Award
- OSU Alumni Association Distinguished Professor Award
- OSU Faculty Teaching Excellence Award
- OSU Impact Award for Outstanding Scholarship
- OSU Outreach and Engagement Award
- OSU Professional Faculty Excellence Award
- Outstanding Faculty Research Assistant Award
- Promising Scholar Award
- Dar Reese Excellence in Advising Award
- Elizabeth P. Ritchie Distinguished Professor Award
- Student Learning and Success Teamwork Award

Additionally, information pertaining to other awards, which are selected by a variety of other groups, is also online at <a href="http://senate.oregonstate.edu/individual-awards">http://senate.oregonstate.edu/individual-awards</a>. Note that nominations for these awards have varying deadlines, so please check each award for the appropriate deadline.

A new award this year is the Postdoctoral Excellence Award. The award will be granted to two exceptional postdoctoral scholars, fellows or research associates for their exceptional contributions to their research field, OSU and the greater postdoctoral community. Nominations for this award are due April 5, 2019. Information about this award is available online at <a href="https://gradschool.oregonstate.edu/postdocs/postdoctoral-excellence-award">https://gradschool.oregonstate.edu/postdocs/postdoctoral-excellence-award</a>.

An easy way to view all of the awards is to scroll through the Nomination Awards Summary Table at <a href="https://senate.oregonstate.edu/nomination-awards-summary-table">https://senate.oregonstate.edu/nomination-awards-summary-table</a>. The table lists the awards in alpha order and includes the purpose, eligibility, stipend amount, contact person and due date for nomination submissions.

### **2019 Faculty Senate Officers**

- President Mina Carson
- President-Elect Dwaine Plaza
- Immediate Past President Jon Dorbolo
- Executive Committee Bill Bogley, Vrushali Bokil, John Edwards, Selina Heppell, Jeff Sherman and Jane Waite. Additionally, Christine Pollard is an ex-officio member representing OSU-Cascades.
- Interinstitutional Faculty Senate Senators Goran Jovanovich, Jay Noller and Devon Quick
- Senators representing all apportionment units are online at <a href="https://senate.oregonstate.edu/current-year-membership">https://senate.oregonstate.edu/current-year-membership</a>.

Information about the Faculty Senate is available online at <a href="https://senate.oregonstate.edu/">https://senate.oregonstate.edu/</a>. If you have questions about any of the items listed above or need additional information, you may call 541-737-4344 or email <a href="mailto:faculty.senate@oregonstate.edu">faculty.senate@oregonstate.edu</a>.