2021-2022 Annual Report

STUDENT RECOGNITION AND AWARDS COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT TO THE FACULTY SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE JULY 2022

The Faculty Senate Student Recognition and Awards Committee (SRAC) awarded the Waldo-Cummings (WC) and Drucilla Shepard Smith (DSS) awards in AY 2021-2022. This was the first time the WC award had been made since the 2018-19 academic year.

The DSS award is given based on GPA alone – to all students who have a cumulative 4.0 GPA – and there is no financial component to the award, so no decisions must be made as to who receives this award. Once grades were submitted at the end of the winter term, the Scholarship Office could send a letter to students with a 4.0 GPA that they were receiving the award.

The WC scholarship involves the SRAC selecting a set number of recipients based on written answers to questions, student resumes and, in previous years, interviews. In a typical year there are 20 recipients, ranging from freshman to seniors.

This year the SRAC changed two things: the number of recipients and the selection process. The number of recipients was more than tripled to include 62 students. Since the award was not given during the two previous academic years, it was considered appropriate – and well within the scholarship budget, which had grown over the previous years by gaining earnings with no offsetting expenses – to expand the number of recipients to accommodate students who didn't get the opportunity to apply in the previous two years.

The selection process involved two significant changes from previous years. The first was the use of ScholarDollars to advertise the award and collect applications, and for the SRAC to review and score applications. Using ScholarDollars involved working closely with Heidi Ware of the Scholarship Office, and the co-chairs and SRAC benefited greatly from this collaboration. It also benefited students, who could use a single portal to find and apply for awards. Over 300 applications were submitted this year, more than previous years, suggesting that the online system serves the students well. ScholarDollars also made the review and selection process work very well for the Committee. All steps and materials could be managed through this system, including sending award letters to recipients and letters of regret to the other applicants.

The second change to the selection process was to eliminate the interviews to select the recipients. Instead, the SRAC used a scoring system based on students' responses to questions developed by the committee and students' resumes. The interview process had been a very time-intensive process, so the Committee decided to do away with it. (The cochairs held a meeting during the year with previous SRAC chairs to ask for advice and to get reactions on changing the selection process. The result of this meeting is that the co-chairs decided that the advantages of eliminating the interviews would outweigh the advantages of meeting the students personally and interviewing them.) Once the applications were submitted, each application was assigned to two people to review and score the application. Eight people reviewed applications, and each person's top ten applications were then selected as recipients. Since several applicants were chosen by more than one reviewer, the final number of recipients ended up at 62. The co-chairs considered other ways to select the recipients beyond choosing the top ten scores on each person's list. However, rather than using methods that would involve averaging and normalizing numerical scores, the method chosen allowed the committee to honor all its members' views on what they considered to be the strongest applications they reviewed.

The co-chairs have agreed to serve again in the same capacity in the coming academic year. They can then run this process a second time, modify it as necessary, and make any changes needed to the Standing Rules and handbook, as needed. They will also identify a new chair to take over at the end of the coming academic year.

2021-2022 Membership:

| Dave Bernell, Co-Chair '22 | Political Science |
|-----------------------------------|---|
| Leslie Schacht Drey, Co-Chair '23 | Student Affairs |
| Tiffany Garcia '22 | Fisheries, Wildlife & Conservation Sciences |
| Chris Palmer '22 | College of Engineering |
| Fred Tedeschi '22 | Athletics |
| Michael Boock '23 | OSU Libraries |
| Brenna Gomez '23 | Undergraduate Education |
| Shari Brumbach '24 | University Events |
| Mike Cieri '24 | College of Business |
| Kim McAloney '24 | Student Affairs |
| | |

Report submitted by co-chairs, David Bernell and Leslie Schacht in July 2022