# **Professional Faculty Ad Hoc Review Committee**

## Charge

The Professional Faculty Ad Hoc Review Committee, appointed by the Faculty Senate Executive Committee, is responsible for exploring new ways to support OSU's Professional Faculty, including but not limited to: 1) continuous employment status, 2) listening sessions and surveys of professional faculty, 3) creating best practices for Professional Faculty career ladders, and 4) exploring the opportunity for a permanent Faculty Senate Committee on the Status of Professional Faculty. All of these proposed goals and actions are explored as part of shared governance at Oregon State University.

#### Goals

- 1. Explore the idea of Oregon State University transitioning annual appointment contracts for Professional Faculty to a continuous employment status, inclusive of advance notice of separation for reasons of re-organization/redeployment of funds or lack of funding
- 2. Suggest appropriate notice periods (i.e. X months)
- 3. Sponsor listening sessions and a survey to listen to OSU Professional Faculty about their feelings, concerns, and attitudes toward moving to continuous employment status
- 4. Provide a separate set of suggestions for supervisors to implement performance improvement plans, and conducting discipline and termination in performance-based matters
- 5. Provide a set of guidelines and best-practices to create career ladders for Professional Faculty positions (i.e. Outreach Coordinator I, Outreach Coordinator II, Outreach Manager)
- 6. Work with university administration, counsel, and college leadership to implement career ladders and plans for advancement review
- 7. Explore the opportunity for Faculty Senate creating a Professional Faculty Committee

#### **Members**

- 1. Jeff Sherman, Chair, Extension Service
- 2. Gigi Bruce, Provost's Office
- 3. Patrice Dragon, College of Business, Professional Faculty Leadership Association
- 4. Jeff Malone, Student Affairs, Advisors
- 5. Wiliama Sanchez, Student Affairs
- 6. Carlea White, *Ecampus*
- 7. Jordon Zardinejad, OSU-Cascades, Academic Affairs

## Ex-officio members:

- 1. Becca Gose, General Counsel
- 2. Selina Heppell, Faculty Senate President-Elect
- 3. Heather Horn, Employee and Labor Relations
- 4. Dwaine Plaza, Faculty Senate President
- 8. Jane Waite, Human Resources, Social Justice Education Initiative

## Staff:

1. Vickie Nunnemaker, Faculty Senate Office