Faculty Recognition and Awards Committee

Annual Report 2021-2022

DATE: June 8, 2022

TO: Executive Committee, Faculty Senate, Oregon State University FROM: Raven Chakerian, Faculty Recognition & Awards Committee Chair

SUBJECT: 2021-2022 Annual Report for Faculty Recognition and Awards Committee

Committee Members

Chakerian, Raven Chair '24 School of Language, Culture & Society

Jana Bouwma-Gearhart '22 College of Education

Nelson Sigrah '22 College of Public Health and Human Sciences Satoris Howes '23 Business Administration, OSU-Cascades

Kathryn Younger '23 Animal & Rangeland Sciences

Bo Price, '24 Center for Genome Research & Biocomputing

Student Member: none N/A

Executive Committee Liaison: Justin Fleming, Finance and Administration

Due to membership transitions mid-year, Raven Chakerian was asked to chair the Faculty Recognition and Awards Committee (FRAC) in February 2022. In the coming year, the Committee will seek *two* new faculty and staff members to replace Jana Bouwma-Gearhart and Nelson Sigrah whose terms will end in 2022, plus *one* student member (ideally). Bo Price was not able to participate this year and should be consulted as to availability to serve next year. Raven Chakerian has agreed to continue to serve as chair in the 2022-2023 AY.

During the 2021-2022 AY, the Committee evaluated 24 nominations (including 2 teams for the "Student Learning and Success Teamwork Award") for 12 awards. Five awards did not receive nominations: Faculty Innovator Award, Industry Partnering Award, OSU Outreach and Engagement Award, Dar Reese Excellence in Advising Award and Elizabeth P. Ritchie Distinguished Professor Award. The number of nominations this year appears substantially <u>lower</u> than previous years, though similar to more recent years also falling within the arc of the COVID-19 pandemic.

In February, Raven Chakerian and Vickie Nunnemaker communicated to set up the FRAC nomination review process and associated committee meeting. Nomination packets were prescreened for accuracy and eligibility and assembled on Box by the Faculty Senate Office for the Committee to review. In addition, the Senate office facilitated participation of additional reviewers according to individual award requirements (e.g., The Faculty Excellence in Online Teaching Award requires an additional reviewer from the Faculty Senate Online Education Committee). During the review period all committee members completed the provided Evaluation Form which required ranking all nominees for each award and providing comments regarding the strengths and weaknesses of each nomination packet. A thorough review was completed even if an award had only one recipient. Following the review period, the Committee met in a hybrid format with Raven Chakerian (chair) and Vickie Nunnemaker (nonvoting, Faculty Senate facilitator) attending in the Faculty Senate conference room and other members (Jana Bouwma-Gearhart, Nelson Sigrah, Satoris Howes, Kathryn Younger) attending via Zoom on April 13, 2022. The Committee reached consensus on the recommendations for all the award recipients using a ranking system followed by a discussion as suggested by Vickie Nunnemaker. Vickie assisted by tracking rankings on the white board which was projected on Zoom.

A new award was approved by the Provost's Office this year: the OSU Faculty Affordability Award. Funds for the new award will be provided by the Open Educational Resources Unit of Ecampus. This award recognizes demonstrated commitment to providing affordable course learning materials to students. The award was not finalized until June, 2022 and will be included in the solicitation for the 2022-2023 award cycle.

In addition to reviewing nominations and selecting award recipients, the Committee discussed the

solicitation and review process. The committee recommends that next year's members meet to discuss potential changes to the award solicitation and review process. Items for discussion:

- Current Faculty Senate Office members attempt to assure that representation on the
 committee includes diverse representation across ranks and disciplines. Should the standing
 rules be changed to include specific language around diverse committee membership to
 assure continuity of this process in case of staffing changes in the Senate office? Some
 Committee members felt it was important to assure that research faculty were included on
 the committee, for example.
- Should the Committee membership be more robust to allow for a wider range of perspectives from different ranks, disciplines, modalities and job classifications? Some members felt more than six members would improve the committee. Others felt more than six would complicate the review process.
- Can language used to solicitate awards and guide nominators be clarified to help streamline the review process? Faculty Recognition and Awards Committee members noted that nominators may not know that the committee is multidisciplinary and may not be familiar with what excellence looks like in a given discipline. Informing nominators of how the committee is composed and encouraging them to focus specifically on the award criteria would be beneficial.
- How can we encourage more nominations? What is the best way to spread the word about awards? Most awards had only one or two nominations.

A special thanks to Vickie Nunnemaker and Caitlin Calascibetta in the Faculty Senate Office for facilitating the award process!

Raven Chakerian, Senior Instructor School of Language, Culture & Society Oregon State University