2022-2023 Annual Report

STUDENT RECOGNITION AND AWARDS COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT TO THE FACULTY SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE JULY 2023

David Bernell and Leslie Schacht

The Faculty Senate Student Recognition and Awards Committee awarded the Waldo-Cummings (WC) and Drucilla Shepard Smith (DSS) awards in AY 2022-2023.

The DSS award is given based on GPA alone – to all students who have a cumulative 4.0 GPA – and there is no financial component to the award, so no decisions need to be made as to who wins this award. Once grades were submitted at the end of the winter term, the Scholarship Office determined which students had a 4.0. The Scholarship Office determined that they would not send the award letter to recipients, since it had confused students previously that they received an award letter from the Scholarship Office, but received no scholarship, just a letter saying that they had won the award. This year the Committee chairs decided they would send the letter. However, they did not do this right away, so students didn't get the letter until after the spring term had ended.

The WC scholarship involves the Committee selecting a set number of winners based on written answers to questions and student resumes. This year the Committee continued to follow the process that had been developed the previous year, which changed two things from past practices: the number of recipients and the selection process. The number of recipients this year was over 50 students. The scholarship budget had grown over the previous years since the award had not been given twice (during the pandemic). Therefore, it was feasible to continue to have a higher number of winners than there had been in past years, which was 20 per year.

The selection process involved the use of ScholarDollars to advertise the award and collect applications, and for the Committee to review and score applications. Using ScholarDollars involved working closely with Heidi Ware of the Scholarship Office, and the co-chairs and SRAC benefited from this collaboration. It also benefited students, who could use a single portal to find and apply for awards. There were almost 500 applications submitted this year, many more than previous years (and the previous year had set a record with 300 applications). ScholarDollars also made the review and selection process work very well for the Committee. All steps and materials could be managed through this system, including sending award letters to winners and letters of regret to the other applicants.

Once the applications were submitted, each application was assigned to two people to review and score. Ten people reviewed applications, and each person's top five or six applications were discussed in a final meeting of the Committee to determine the winners, who each received an award letter and a scholarship of \$100.

The co-chairs have served in this role for two years, and they are both rotating off the Student Recognition and Awards Committee. They have recommended a few people to the Faculty Senate Executive Committee to serve as chair in the coming year.

2022-2023 Membership

Dave Bernell, Co-Chair '23 Political Science Leslie Schacht Drey, Co-Chair '23 Student Affairs Michael Boock '23 OSU Libraries Brenna Gomez '23 Student Affairs Shari Brumbach '24 University Events College of Business Mike Cieri '24 Kim McAloney '24 Student Affairs Megan Roegner '25 **Civil & Construction Engineering** Paul Thompson '25 Public Policy Agricultural Education & Agricultural Sciences Faith Vawter '25

Student Member:

- Angelo Arredondo
- TBA

Ex-Officio Member: Scholarship Office – Heidi Ware

Executive Committee Liaison – Scott Geddes