Oregon State University

OSU Home | Calendar | Find Someone | Maps | Site Index

Faculty Senate

Faculty Senate » Committees/Councils » Faculty Status Committee » Annual Reports » Annual Report 2004-05

Faculty Status Committee

Annual Report 2004-05

Membership 2004-2005:	
Susan Poole '05, Chair	Student Health Services
Ann Christie '05	Valley Library
Jennifer Travers '05	Chemistry
Beth Barker '06	Business Affairs
Rick Nafshun '06	Chemistry
Wei Yang '06	N. Willamette Research & Extension Center
Tom Adams '07	Forest Science
Murty Kanury '07	Mechanical Engineering
Badege Bishaw '07	Forest Science

Executive Committee Liaison - Mike Quinn Faculty Status Committee met once per term, fall winter and spring.

Beth Barker was unable to be a committee member and Murty Kanury resigned from the committee winter term. Wei Yang was included by way of teleconferencing. Identifying ideal meeting times to accommodate all members was challenging.

For detailed meeting discussion and action, please refer to the Faculty Status Committee minutes on file.

Key topic discussions included:

- Overlap of missions with other Faculty Senate Committees
- Fixed-Term Faculty Task Force Report
- Including a retired faculty member on the committee (declined suggestion by Faculty Senate Executive Committee)
- What should be identified in a Family Friendly Policy or Employee Friendly Policy (Note: first conversation occurred with Jacque Rudolph and others. Follow up should occur).

Recommendations to the Executive Committee by the Faculty Status Committee:

That action be taken on the recommendations made by the Fixed-Term Faculty Task Force.

<u>Asked the Committee on Committees</u> to amend the description of the Faculty Status Committee to include the language in italics:

o "The Committee is composed of nine faculty members, one of whom may be retired, representing the broad spectrum of faculty appointment as identified in the OSU Faculty Senate Bylaws."

o Further, it was recommended to refer the language change to "Generally, the full Committee meets quarterly": should read <u>"Generally, the full Committee meets at least</u> once per term/quarter, not including summer."

Rick Nafshun is recommended as chairperson for Faculty Status Committee 2005-06. Vickie Nunnemaker has been advised.